illustration © Sarah Myers, used by permission

Fairy Lamps

A. Christine Myers
1 min readOct 19, 2019

The full moon shone adown the open sky;
Half-past twelve at last
I waited for the fairies to come by;
Half-past twelve at last

I did not see the fairies in the grass,
Half-past twelve at last
Only shimmer where their shoes would pass;
Half-past twelve at last

Dewdrops, raindrops, moondrops round as pearls
Jewel-bright in the night
Lined the lane beneath the grasses' curls;
Jewel-bright in the night

Globes of moonlight marked the fairy way;
Jewel-bright in the night
All the lamps were lit for holiday;
Jewel-bright in the night

I waited in the grass beneath the moon,
Tick tock, one o’clock
And wondered had I come too late or soon?
Tick tock, one o’clock

Not a single fairy did I see;
Tick tock, one o’clock
I think the fairies were still watching me
Tick tock, one o’clock

--

--